Group Members

Principle Investigator
Yat Li
Associate Professor, Graduate Program Director
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, PSB 160
University of California
1156 High Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95064
Email: yatli@ucsc.edu; Phone:(831) 459-1952

ORCID:0000-0002-8058-2084
http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=7LTJBnUAAAAJ&hl=en

I received my BSc (1999) and PhD degree (2002) in chemistry from the University of Hong Kong. As a graduate student in Prof. Wing Tak Wong’s lab, I studied the coordination chemistry of metal clusters and their catalytic applications. I received a Croucher Foundation postdoctoral fellowship in 2003 and joined Prof. Charles Lieber’s group at Harvard University, where I studied the optical and electronic properties of III-nitrides nanowire and nanowire heterostructures. I joined UC Santa Cruz as an assistant professor in 2007 and promoted to associate professor in 2013. My lab’s research focuses on rational design and synthesis of low-dimensional materials. We seek to understand their chemical and physical properties and to realize their potential applications in energy conversion and storage.

Graduate Students

Tianyi Kou
M.S., Shandong University, China
B.Sc., University of Jinan, China
Email: tkou@ucsc.edu

Bin Yao
M.S. & B.Sc., Wuhan University of Technology
Email: binyao@ucsc.edu
Lab Safety Representative

Wang Xiao
B.Sc., Xiamen University, China
Email: waxiao@ucsc.edu

Daniel Bulmahn
B.Sc., University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
Email: dbulmahn@ucsc.edu

Mingpeng Chen
B.Eng., Tianjin University, China
Email: mchen88@ucsc.edu
Group website administrator

Megan Freyman
B.Sc., Virginia Tech.
Email: mfreyman@ucsc.edu

Shanwen Wang
B.Sc., Beihang University, China
Email: swang201@ucsc.edu

Visiting Scholars and Students

Dr. Jing Zhang
Wuhan University of Technology, China
Email: jingzhang@ucsc.edu

Huarong Peng
Chongqing University, China
Email: hpeng5@ucsc.edu

Prof. Changjin Tang
Nanjing University, China
Email: ctang40@ucsc.edu

Xiaoli Fan
Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China
Email: xfan17@ucsc.edu

Lei Zhang
Wuhan University of Technology, China
Email: lzhan108@ucsc.edu

Prof. Wei Xu
Wuyi University, China
Email: wxu34@ucsc.edu

Cheng Cheng
Xi’an Jiaotong University
Email: ccheng35@ucsc.edu

 Undergraduates

Andrea Cruz (Junior)

John Pinto (Super-Senior)

Martina Morelli (Senior)

Elizabeth Chen (Senior)

High School Student Interns

currently none